E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

2010 E60 Shakes and engine light on after fueling

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2019, 11:40 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2010 535i xdrive M-Sport
Post 2010 E60 Shakes and engine light on after fueling

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this channel but i need some help if anyone has experienced what I am going through. I have 2010 535i xdrive M-Sport with 71k miles on it. Car runs and drives absolutely fine except for one issue. When I go to put gas in the car, upon starting the car, it shakes and the check engine light comes on it reads that there is a lean mixture. I have done a smoke test and found that my valve cover had a crack and both turbocharger blow off valves were leaking. I have changed all of that and smoked tested the car again and it has no issues. I cleared the code and test drove the car it was fine but as soon as i went to the gas station and put $10 of gas the same issue would come back. This only happens when i put gas in the car. To be sure that I wasn't going crazy I had a BMW dealer check it out they can confirm that there is no other leaks in the system and all sensors are working fine. I asked them if they can fix it they told me they don't even know what is going and BMW engineering got involved and said to try and replace the igniters if that doesn't work we cant help. They have inspected them and said they don't seem to be bad because everything else in the car is working fine but they arent 100% sure. I have checked the gas cap to make sure its good (it is). I don't fill up my car when the engine is running. Personally i don't think it is the igniters because the car would be running rough, i feel it may be a sensor but idk. Everything in the car is perfect except for when i put gas and i only put 91 and 93 in it. The only code i am getting is the system is too lean.