5Series.net - Forums

5Series.net - Forums (https://5series.net/forums/)
-   E60 Discussion (https://5series.net/forums/e60-discussion-2/)
-   -   2005 BMW 545i Initial Repair Questions (https://5series.net/forums/e60-discussion-2/2005-bmw-545i-initial-repair-questions-149400/)

unlucky2.1.2012 02-24-2019 08:01 PM

2005 BMW 545i Initial Repair Questions

BMW Newbie here from Sunny San Diego,

I just bought a 2005 BMW 545i with the 4.4 V8 with 95k miles. I am not sure if the BMW is equipped as a base or sport. It does have two different size tires. I took it a BMW dealer to get a pre-purchase inspection done. It passed, apart from the following flagged items.

Repair Immediately flagged:
• Replace left/right front sway-bar links.
• Replace Thrust Rod Bushings.
• Replace Front Struts. (Found front shocks leaking)
• Replace rear tires 2mm or less. (What’s the best functional tire for just daily use)

Would benefit from being serviced soon Flagged:
• Fuel Injection service
• Coolant Fluid Exchange
• Differential fluid exchange
• Power steering system fluid exchange
• Four-wheel Alignment

So here are my problem questions.
How should I tackle the “Repair Immediately items?” I read that an Indy shop would be more cost efficient. I can do anything that is relatively easy to access with limited tools.
Per items that need replacing, what parts will be required?
Should I replace anything else while these repairs are in progress?
Would it be beneficial to buy all my parts OEM or better before taking it for repairs? If so whats a good site?
What order of priority should I tackle the Fluid Exchanges? Where should I take the BMW for services same Indy shop or a typical fluid replacement shop?

I am in need of BMW Compass Roses and experience to point me in the right direction.

Rangers Lead The Way!

unlucky2.1.2012 02-24-2019 08:04 PM