DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2008, 03:38 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As promised, here is the first Diy i did.
I hope it can be of some help to some people, its an easy diy that takes about 15 minutes if you have the right tools at hand.
Ofcourse i'm not a pro, so it is most likely that this mod can be done better (post your suggestions and instructions.)
As always, use at own risk!

Special thanks to nicke60gre for the help and to andy545 for informing me about nicke60gre.

Comparison between the original and the M5 shifter
E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide-0.jpg

Pull out the protective leather around the shifter
E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide-1.jpg

Remove the shift knob, easiest way to do this is by putting the shifter in 4th gear and pull the knob upwards
E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide-2.jpg

Remove the I-drive knob by pulling it upwards, remove the menu button by pulling it out with a soft tool (i used a screwdriver, a soft tool might be better so you wont damage the trim)
E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide-3.jpg

Before you start removing the trim first remove the ash tray and remove the 2 screws, then pull up the trim gently (someone on this board noted that you need super human fingers to pull this one out.. and he is right!)
E60 / E61 M5 illuminated shift knob retrofit guide-5.jpg

Route the 2 wires below the I-drive knob and fish for it at the hole where the menu button cable comes up (you need iron nerves for this one, but its clean when its done)
The 2 outer wires of the menu button plug are the ones for the power of the led (purple/white - brown/black, the 2 outside wires), be sure to test this first.. i don't want you to Short circuit your i drive system.