5Series.net - Forums

5Series.net - Forums (https://5series.net/forums/)
-   DIY: Do It Yourself (https://5series.net/forums/diy-do-yourself-14/)
-   -   Coding and registering new battery (https://5series.net/forums/diy-do-yourself-14/coding-registering-new-battery-114909/)

vkhong 07-04-2011 07:23 AM

For the E60, I'm trying to understand the procedure, and I think it may be simple for those of us familiar with NCS Expert and INPA / Toolset.

Verify / code the CAS module with the actual battery type installed:
HTML Code:

KLASSE_BATTERIE                BATTERY TYPE
    wert_00                        value 00
    80ah                            80 ampere-hours
    90ah                            90 ampere-hours
    110ah                          110 ampere-hours
    70ah                            70 ampere-hours
    55ah                            55 ampere-hours
    46ah                            46 ampere-hours
    70ah_agm                        70 ampere-hours (agm)
    90ah_agm                        90 ampere-hours (agm)
    60ah_agm                        60 ampere-hours (agm)
    80ah_agm                        80 ampere-hours (agm)

In my case, I am using a 110ah BMW battery. If one is using a non-BMW battery, use the closest matching capacity. Correct behavior not guaranteed with non-BMW batteries.

Register the battery. Use Toolset 32 (under EDIABAS folder):
  • Load SGBD, Group file: MSD80.prg
  • Look up steuern_batterietausch_registri. (near bottom of job list)
  • Go to Jobs menu
  • Select Run Job

What do you guys think?

vkhong 07-04-2011 10:27 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is the screen of the "Battery Exchange Registration" job in EDIABAS Toolset.
Attachment 122939

bruce_miranda 07-04-2011 01:26 PM

there are some VO relating to Batteries as well. What about changing the VO and the coding the car using NCSexpert.

vkhong 07-04-2011 01:46 PM

Good idea. All BMW Codes list does not show any battery VO string though.

One could just stick with the same capacity, skip the coding, and just register the battery exchange.

NoQuarter 07-04-2011 02:58 PM


Originally Posted by vkhong (Post 1359153)
Good idea. All BMW Codes list does not show any battery VO string though.

One could just stick with the same capacity, skip the coding, and just register the battery exchange.


$992$9AA-B110+NBFD

-B110 is the battery code in my FA

vkhong 07-04-2011 03:52 PM

Good stuff, thanks.

I also found this thread: Battery change info

Looking at the text in C:\NCSEXPER\DATEN\E60AT.000, I see we're limited to the following batteries for VO:

HTML Code:

E B080                  BATTERIE_80AH                  //80 Ah-Batterie
E B090                  BATTERIE_90AH                  //90 Ah-Batterie
E B110                  BATTERIE_110AH                  //110 Ah-Batterie
E A090                  BATT_AGM_90AH                  //90 Ah-AGM Batterie (SA536)
E A080                  BATT_AGM_80AH                  //80 Ah-AGM Batterie


Rizbel 07-04-2011 06:35 PM

When I clicked the Job menu there was no Run Job selection,
only
  • Ecu Info
  • Select Job Control+J
  • Start Job once only F5
  • Start Job continualy F6
I selected "Start Job once only".
EDIABAS ToolSet 32 version 3.2.7

Before this I did a NCSExpert/CAS module
KLASSE_BATTERIE
and changed 110ah to 90ah_agm
Thanks :thumbsup: .


Originally Posted by vkhong (Post 1359085)
... Use Toolset 32 (under EDIABAS folder):
  • Load SGBD, Group file: MSD80.prg
  • Look up steuern_batterietausch_registri. (near bottom of job list)
  • Go to Jobs menu
  • Select Run Job


Georgieb 07-16-2011 08:31 AM

Tag'd for future reference. Thanks for the info guys!

Tavher 10-23-2011 12:11 AM

I have replaced my 90Ah AGM battery with new BOSCH S5 110Ah and tried to register it:
- in NCS Expert I changed the value KLASSE_BATTERIE in CAS module to 110Ah (if I read the module again the new value is set and correct)
- in Toolset 32 I opened MSD80 and executed jub steuern_batterietausch_registri and the status was OK (I also tried with MSV70 and MSV80)

But when I check the PM Field 2 in INPA there is still 91Ah as it was before. I also tried B TAUSCH in INPA and also repeated the process.

I dont know why it is 91Ah when it was 90Ah battery installed, but shouldnt I see 110Ah now?

I have E61 2006. Is the procedure different? Or where could be the problem?

Thank you for your suggestions!

Sas 10-26-2011 02:17 AM

You have to remove -A090 and $536 from FA then code FA_WRITE CAS & LMA, then recode new FA -B110 to cas & LMA end code car.
Also reset IBS with INPA.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:44 AM.


© 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands