DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

Amp and Subwoofer install

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2009, 04:13 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2004 BMW 545i 6mt, Titanium Silver, Sport Package, Winter Package

My computer internet is horrible so keep that in mind. I searched and its a slow tedious process.
Ok guys. So I'm new to BMW and the 5 series but i have owned other cars and have done systems in the past. So heres my problem. First off I have a 2004 545i with the 7logic system. I tried reading through the forum and now I am confused.

1. I know there is a sub-woofer installed underneath the passenger seat. Is there one underneath the driver seat or anywhere else in the car?

2. I want to install a 1000w amp with speaker level inputs and use it in the trunk. When i looked i noticed the previous owner installed a system and cut the wires out. So im going to try to describe what they left. My car has in the trunk on the driverside the stock amp and all the speaker wires. What the previous owner did was install a converter that converts speaker signal to RCA signal by splicing the converter into the speaker wire harness. So basically they have 2 rca outputs.
.... So this is where it gets fishy. I would like to use speaker level inputs instead of the rca so i installed the amp + sub and connected the speaker level inputs into the same wires that the converter box used assuming that these are the wires for the rear speakers.
It works but the subwoofer is not loud at all it barely bumps.

The next step I was going to take was to try the existing RCA outputs and connect the amp that way and hope the sub bumps. I didnt initially use the RCA's because im not sure where to connect the remote wire to. where can I connect the remote.