Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

So what do you do for work?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 08:24 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: Stock 2004 BMW 525i
Default So what do you do for work?

I often like to discuss work and what line of work other people are in, I will start because I am once again starting a new career.

After working in the seismic industry for a decade and enduring the cyclical ups and downs of the energy industry and two large scale layoff's I wanted a change. The change did not go as expected so I worked retail for a number of years but in '99 at the tender age of 45 I decided I needed to change my approach and go back to school. I wanted to do something where I had a chance at making a difference and to help people so I entered the police academy. I was at least 15-20yrs older than all my fellow cadets but I graduated at the top of my class and within two months of graduation I was hired on as a Deputy Sheriff at a small county 30 miles south of Waco. This entailed a complete 'up rooting' of my life in Houston and I was just wanting to put in a year of service so I could transition back to the Houston area to another department. Said dream lasted 6 months before I got screwed by this small county Sheriff.

In '11 I moved back home to Houston trying to find employment with other departments only to be denied again and again and last week I made a difficult but wise decision to pursue another career path yet one that is still rewarding in the sense that I still get to help people. I decided upon a career as a 'Pharmacy Technician' and will soon be starting classes. I have researched this field as well as reading about the huge growth that is expected in this field for at least the next decade if not more. I will also receive a certification in 'Sterile Products and Quality Assurance' thus allowing me to also work in hospitals and even jails.