E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

E60 - Audio Upgrade

Old 06-23-2015, 01:41 PM
New Members

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: 2010 535i xdrive
Model Year: 2010
Default E60 - Audio Upgrade

Hi Gents (and ladies if you are on here) - I have an E60 with the HiFi audio system and this audio system is not up to par with this the rest of this high quality machine. After searching high and low through various BMW and DIY audio forums, my audio upgrade was finally completed over the weekend by a couple of E90/Bimmerfest forum members who I will mention later on in the post.

My story went something like this. I was like "I can do this audio upgrade myself as I used to do this stuff in my teenage years back in the 90's"...but that was in my beaters which I didn't care about, and I do not want to mess up this BMW.

First off I wanted Sirius. I am a tech nerd so I know cheaper ways of doing things, but I wanted this car to be done right, not some round about way to save me a $100 bucks. I was led to Patryk at BimmerTech, he helped me figure out the right Sirius module and hardware I needed, and then I bought that on-line and was able to drop that in using a DIY on one of the forums. Patryk did the coding for me and I got a year free subscription from him. All-in was $200 for the module (from a junkyard) and I think about $250 for BimmerTech. This was all done in less than a week.

Next up I needed more juice in the audio system. I read and read and read. Use Musiccar NW to help out, or use the Bavsound set-up, but further reading told me that BavSound is hardly an upgrade over stock, they do easily fit, but the sound is ehhh at best. After speaking with Musiccar NW they were out of my price range for what you get from them.